Trails cut across the Armenian Highlands in Syunik region

Trails cut across the Armenian Highlands in Syunik region (Photo by Hayk Melkonyan, My Armenia Program)

By Region

Armenia is divided into ten regions or marzes. Each marz has a unique culture, formed by its long history and specific geography. Armenia’s capital, Yerevan, celebrates the 2800th anniversary of its founding in 2018, and the marzes have equally ancient origins and histories to discover. The southern marzes include Ararat, Vayots Dzor, Syunik, and Gegharkunik, and the northern marzes include Armavir, Aragatsotn, Shirak, Lori, Tavush, and Kotayk. My Armenia currently supports experiences located in Lori, Shirak, Syunik, Tavush, and Vayots Dzor marz.

Share Your Armenia

Are you involved in promoting or preserving cultural heritage in Armenia? We are seeking organizations or individuals supporting cultural heritage in Armenia.

Learn More

Join the Cultural Community

Sign up to learn more about upcoming events, activities, and our work to preserve and share Armenia's cultural heritage.